Another New Chance… (#…umm… who knows…)

Yes! Here I am again! Been a while, but I am here to tell you, I am still alive and kicking. So what’s been up? I am in my 43rd year this year. At the top of the year I found myself fatter than I have ever been in my life! I know, I know… “don’t worry about it… at least you’re tall.” I have heard that, but that ain’t gettin’ it for me. I made a promise to myself that I would never… let me repeat… NEVER… cross the 300 lbs threshold, and yet I was tipping the scale at almost 310 lbs! What to do, what to do. I considered dieting, more exercise, so many options and considerations.  The reality is that I have to unravel the mystery of me and my genetics.

Once upon a time I did Atkins and I lost 27 lbs. I lost many waste sizes and I was pretty happy with the results. The problem was that at that point in my life, I wasn’t ready to change my lifestyle for good.  I did what I needed to to see a result, then back to my ways I went. What happened? Well what do you think? I gained all of it back, plus a few bonus lbs to boot!

Recently, I have reevaluated my current situation and decided, Atkins worked for me before, I will adopt a lower carb diet, and see what happens. I cut the following: Bread, pasta, rice, corn, potatoes and refined sugar. This includes all by-products of said list, and any combo thereof. I kept fruit (think an apple a day, raspberries, strawberries etc) and I have other carb containing foods (in moderation) such as beans, dairy and some vegetables. I may get a bun or 5-10 corn chips once a week, but that is it. I am now, as of today at 294 lbs. Not much exercise, but tons of will power and discipline. I have noticed many bodily changes. Clothes fitting much loser, as my body adjusts and shrinks; my joints don’t hurt, skin is amazingly clear, energy levels are up, as is the ol’ libido.

Meanwhile, my career is in full swing, home life is perfecto, and dreams and aspirations are transpiring and in full swing. I said I’d go down swinging, but I realized I am in this fight… I am not going down…I am not going anywhere! I am here NOW!

I will check back in once a week or more going forward. I’ll make an effort to congress with you, my followers (the few out there that think this story is interesting) and fill you in as my success continues.

My ultimate goal is to weigh in at the same weight I was in H.S. 248. That means 62 lbs… well 48 lbs left now… STAY TUNED TRUE BELIEVERS!

Leave a Reply

