Summertime is for riding

I took out the Road Glide for a little evening cruising tonight. Basically, my gal came home and said she really wanted to go for a ride. I know what that means. She had a busy day at work and wanted to lose herself in the road, the

roar of the engine, the feel of the warm evening air kissing her cheeks as she sits back and listens to some tunes. Who can blame her? What she loves about riding is precisely what I love…well except for the fact that I am actually piloting the bike. I am glad that she enjoys sitting behind me as we gobble up the miles, hug the turns, rev the bike up to freeway speeds as fast as possible. She trusts me completely, and has no fear as she sits quietly over my shoulder.

Tonight we cruised through downtown Seattle by the stadiums, then up onto I-90 East. I took her out to Mercer Island and we went to the Roanoke Inn. Roanoke is a little out of the way tavern on the island, that if you didn’t know it was there, you wouldn’t know it was there. We had a beer and a bite, then back on the road to head for home.

And of course…we took the long way home…

Leave a Reply

